Skip to content

Counting the Days

Anyone following me on social media will know that during Spring, immediately following the first night of Passover, I begin posting daily counting posts. This is my way of sharing my daily Omer counting with you. In Judaism, the seven weeks between Passover and Shavuot are known as the Omer, and we count these days to mark the passage of time from one holiday to the other. 

We don’t, however, count the days between every holiday. This counting is specific to these two holidays. As with all of Judaism, it has a literal ancient meaning, as well as a spiritual one. Omer literally means a unit of measure equal to a tenth of an ephah. In biblical times, on the second day of Passover the grain offering (an omer of grain) was to be given at the Temple. Beginning that day and continuing for seven weeks, Israelities were to count each day. The day after the seven weeks was Shavuot, the holiday commemorating the giving of the Torah and the birth of the Israelites as a nation. The seven weeks were to be a time of introspection and preparation for remembering receiving Torah. 

In the Jewish mysticism known as Kabbalah, each of the 49 days as well as each of the seven weeks of this period corresponds to one of the lower divine emanations (sephirot) of the Tree of Life. The lower sephirot represent the conscious emotions of humanity. Each week represents one sephira (lovingkindness, discipline, harmony, endurance, humility, bonding, and leadership) that is in need of correction and each day within that week represents a sephira used to correct the one of the week. I have included a chart below to show how this works out. 

This seven week correction of our emotions helps to prepare us for remembering the giving of Torah and our transition from slavery into peoplehood. Passover marks our freedom from slavery, but just because we are no longer bound doesn’t immediatly mean we are free. Freedom is a mentality and that isn’t developed overnight. I wrote about this in  some depth last year, and you can read that here

Counting the Omer can and should be an alchemical transformation of self. The actual counting, when done with purpose and passion, becomes a meditative practice. When you take the practice beyond the actual count and apply the soul correction of each day and week, it becomes a deep dive of shadow work. It’s a seven week period of embracing the dark aspects of our soul and bringing them into the light. 

Make your days count as you count your days. 

Loving kindness in Loving Kindness
DAY 2 Discipline in Loving KindnessDAY 3
Harmony in Loving kindness
Endurance in Loving Kindness
Humility in Loving Kindness
Bonding in Loving Kindness
Leadership in Loving Kindness
Loving Kindness in Discipline
Discipline in Discipline
DAY 10
Harmony in Discipline
DAY 11
Endurance in Discipline
DAY 12
Humility in Discipline
DAY 13
Bonding in Discipline
DAY 14
Leadership in Discipline
DAY 15
Loving Kindness in Harmony
DAY 16
Discipline in Harmony
DAY 17
Harmony in Harmony
DAY 18 Endurance in HarmonyDAY 19
Humility in Harmony
DAY 20
Bonding in Harmony
DAY 21
Leadership in Harmony
DAY 22
Loving Kindness in Endurance
DAY 23
Discipline in Endurance
DAY 24
Harmony in Endurance
DAY 25
Endurance in Endurance
DAY 26
Humility in Endurance
DAY 27
Bonding in Endurance
DAY 28
Leadership in Endurance
DAY 29
Loving Kindness in Humility
DAY 30
Discipline in Humility
DAY 31
Harmony in Humility
DAY 32
Endurance in Humility
DAY 33
Humility in Humility
DAY 34
Bonding in Humility
DAY 35
Leadership in Humility
DAY 36
Loving Kindness in Bonding
DAY 37
Discipline in Bonding
DAY 38
Harmony in Bonding
DAY 39
Endurance in Bonding
DAY 40
Humility in Bonding
DAY 41
Bonding in Bonding
DAY 42
Leadership in Bonding
DAY 43
Loving Kindness in Leadership
DAY 44
Discipline in Leadership
DAY 45
Harmony in Leadership
DAY 46
Endurance in Leadership
DAY 47
Humility in Leadership
DAY 48
Bonding in Leadership
DAY 49
Leadership in Leadership

Leave a Reply